•  
Advertise here

Land Cruiser or Patrol

Jaan Rambo

Hi Guys,

I am new to Dubai and came across your website which looks so informative. So many wonderful posts.

I have gone dune bashing with my cousins and I guess I have a dune bug that has bitten me. Now I want to get my own off-road monster.

I am divided between the Toyota Land Cruiser 100 series and the Nissan Patrol and so far my cousins have been great help to confuse me even more.

I would like to have opinion from the car gurus here as to which one is better for say 70% of on-road driving and 30% desert driving.

What is power to weight ratio, and which one is better? Which one is more comfortable on-road? Which one is better in the desert drive? Which one has more after market mods available? Which one is lower on maintenance? Generally fewer headaches and more fun?

I am eagerly awaiting your valuable inputs, and hope you will not leave me confused like my cousins.

Welcome Jaan to the most comprehensive car community in the Middle East.

Although I have never driven either car on a long term basis to give you the pros and cons, but having been in the desert myself and off-road scene for over 10 years I would like to help you decide.

Land Cruiser: I have found it to be comfortable on-road and off-road, it all depends on your choice of suspensions and tires that will make you ride more pleasurable. If you are looking for a LC 100 series than you are looking for a second hand option. The resale value of the land Cruiser is a bit higher as it has loads of after market mods available, spare parts are easily available and it is cheap to maintain compared to other vehicles in the same category.