•  
Advertise here

How to turn off traction in Nissan Xterra

Hello @Frederic @Gaurav

This is my second ride with the group and but this time i am doing it with my own car which is xterra but it doesn't have option to turn of the traction. Mechanic said we need to install a kill switch. But my question is do i need to do that for newbie drives or can it wait.

Thanks,

Jana

• Like (+1) 4

1 hour ago, Janarthan said:

Hello @Frederic @Gaurav

This is my second ride with the group and but this time i am doing it with my own car which is xterra but it doesn't have option to turn of the traction. Mechanic said we need to install a kill switch. But my question is do i need to do that for newbie drives or can it wait.

Thanks,

Jana

Hi @Janarthan i am not an expert in Xterra. Probably @Shamil @Chaitanya D @Kalahari @Desert Dweller @Emmanuel or somebody else from the Xterra Crew can assist in this ?

• Like (+1) 5
  • Totally Agree (+2) 1

"Go as far as you can see; once you get there, you'll be able to see further."

ABS kill requires the fuse to be removed from the fuse box in xterra (as per the map) which dont have ABS switch on dash, but it tends to light up some warning signs on dash.

Best is to install a ABS kill switch which many garages do (about 50 to 100AED )considering that you will be driving it off road frequently. 

• Like (+1) 4
  • Totally Agree (+2) 4

2 hours ago, Janarthan said:

Hello @Frederic @Gaurav

Thanks,

Jana

You need to install ABS kill switch which will disable all your stability controls. For newbie drive it is not very important, but get it installed as soon as possible. ABS is not tuned well for off-roading in xterra it can occasionally kick in during steep slopes and keep releasing the tires making your xterra go down without break or control. You must kill the ABS if you are going for serious drives. There are two ways to deactivate ABS