•  
Advertise here

SWB Jeep Wrangler

Hello everyone,

I am considering switching to a SWB car. Already test driven SWB Pajeros and Wranglers; automatic and manual. I remember reading somewhere that Wranglers from a certain year till another year were to avoid due to some issues they had. Any thoughts and opinions?

I want it to off-road. My drive to work is cut down to 10 minutes only (although I've been working from home since March 2020), so that won't be a problem. I don't necessarily want a super cheap one, as the resale value of Wranglers holds pretty well, I think.

Thank you in advance!

• Like (+1) 2
  • Totally Agree (+2) 1

I recall hearing the 2012 wrangler was bad for the “death wobble”. Which was apparently the most extreme year for the wobble. 
The website below covers other years and other issues but nothing overly concerning that can’t be fixed or hasn’t already been recalled and fixed. 
https://www.motorbiscuit.com/never-buy-a-jeep-wrangler-from-these-model-years/

• Like (+1) 3

My favorite years for Wranglers personally were from 2000 - 2004 TJs manual, which were built to last, although the TJ continued through to 2005 & 2006, but manual came with the 6 speed instead of the 5 speed on my favorite models. Off-roader did complaint about the 6 speed manuals, however automatics should be just fine. If you are going manual you will take a few outings to get the right gear and clutch use, lucky you can learn from the very best of @Gaurav, @Srikumar and @Frederic. Plus older models are cheaper so should give you some extra cash in pocket for any repair jobs. @Wrangeld can help you with what to look for in SWB Pajero, I would recommend a 2014 model or later for the gear upshift issue with the automatic in the previous years. Like before I would again recommend the Prado SWB 6 cylinder 4.0 if you can find one in good condition. A Prado too will hardly loose its resale value.

• Like (+1) 2