•  
Advertise here

The 3k, 5k, 10k oil change scam

Barry

After 15 years of working on vehicles in one form or another from road cars to racing cars to trucks and heavy plant equipment it's fair to say I have done a lot of oil changes. I wouldn't even like to guess at how many I've done, how many times I've spilt oil around my feet, how many times it has run down my sleeve. 

I can do rough work, I can patch vehicles up to get them moving but generally, my work is completely professional and I like to do things properly. If I know I did a bad job during the day I would have trouble sleeping at night. I'm a professional  automotive technician. This is what I do, it's my passion and my life's work.

Coming from working in various places in Europe, I have only ever serviced vehicles to the manufacturers specification. I have always used the correct oil and I have always advised my customers when to come back for their next service according to what the manufacturer has specified. This is all I know, it is what I was trained to do. 

It came as a big shock to my system when I first came to UAE and started working in Sharjah and discovered the whole 3k, 5k, 10k oil change bullshit that is going on. I haven't heard of a car built since the 1960s where the manufacturer specified that the oil had to be changed every 3k. Even then, they had recommended grades, not just whichever barrel is closest like what happens here.

I have recently tried to educate myself on this topic and have found out that it happens in parts of America too. 

Bullshit, bullshit, bullshit. I'm sorry but that's the only word I can find to describe it. 

This is all a ploy that has been concocted by service centres to sell their shitty, low quality oil and Chinese aftermarket oil filters in high quantities and make huge profits at the expense of you. These guys don't care about you, they don't care about your car or it's engine. They just want to make money.