Morning Newbie Desert Drive - HALLOWEEN DRIVE: Searching for Ghost Town - Sharjah - 29 Oct 2023

Ale Vallecchi

We request every member that joins this drive to go through the below information and strictly follow these guidelines, etiquettes and responsibilities.

MUST READ AND COMPLY

DRIVE DETAILS

Level:  Newbie and above (sorry, this time no Absolute Newbies)

When:  29 October 2023, Sunday

Meeting time:  7:30 AM - Sharp (Without any exceptions)

Meeting Point: https://maps.app.goo.gl/1DjtotHo1b4nqJmd9

Action Plan: "An inland town in United Arab Emirates (UAE) lives as a ghost town, a place that has long been abandoned, long forgotten! An eerie silence now surrounds the entire place, which is locally called ‘Buried Village’. It used to be a tiny hamlet once upon a time. According to the locals nearby, it was once inhabited by the people of Al Kutbi tribe (they are among the three prominent tribes living in the vicinity of Al Madam). Swallowed by sand or spooked by ‘Djinn’? What actually happened here? Why the town that once flourished is now all covered in sand? No one is pretty sure about what went there. What better way to enjoy this Halloween weekend, than driving across a rather unforgiving and challenging stretch of desert, to end the drive at this legendary haunted village? The area, with tight dunes and bushy flats, preceded by the tall and daunting big dunes of Iftar Bowl and Super Bowl, will require to have already learned the basic off-roading skills, hence no Absolute Newbies will be allowed (only for this drive).

MANDATORY: bring your kids, family or friends, and most of all wear a mask, a costume, make-up, or whatever makes you feel in the mood for Halloween. No normally attired driver will be allowed🤪. The best "costumed" car will win a bounty of treats!!

Approximate finish time: 11:30 AM

Type of Car: Any proper 4x4 with front and back tow hooks and 8-10 inches of ground clearance.