•  
Advertise here

Advise needed - Patrol Y62

Zulfikhar Naiyar

Hi Experts,

I was wondering if I could get some right guidance in terms of using Patrol Y62 for off-roading. 

As a background to this, I'd recently joined this club and found out my AWD (2015 KIA Sorento) was not a capable off-roader. I was lucky to join one of the Absolute Newbie drives with a friend and rightly understood why so. Wouldn't have made past few climbs itself 😅

I've progressed further from it and narrowed down on investing on a Patrol - my requirement is a capable off-roader and a spacious 7 seater family vehicle. And I personally love the Patrol.

Have gone through quite a bit of advices in the forums here on how the members have done some standard mods on the bumpers and skid plates.

I'm looking at Patrols of around 2011-2014 with my budget of 55-65k. I could find some vehicles of similar models run around 150k kms more or less. Is this a good and reasonable option to proceed? Kindly advise.

Also, I'm in favor of LE. However, is SE a good option given the similar pricing?

Or even if there are some other options I could consider here? Given my budget and requirements 😵

@Frederic hope to catch you soon on some of the drives and would love to hear from you as well. :) 

Thanks in advance.

• Like (+1) 2

Hi @ZULFIKHAR NAIYAR

Go for a white LE with 18 inch wheels for the following reasons

1- you will need each and every hp and torque you can squeeze out of the LE VK56VD engine. This is a heavy beast and its power/weight ratio isn't the best

2- you need 18 inch wheels to maximise the tiers sidewall. So at least start with the OEM ones that come with LE version. My tiers recommendation is 275/70R18 that comes around the same diameter as the stock ones

3- the Nissan Patrol is on every corner, and hence the scrap market is full of spare parts. But 99% are white cars. So if you're ok with a white color, it will save you some painting jobs