•  
Advertise here

Pajero: Novice Questions

Hi folks,

I am new to off-roading and looking forward to joining the club’s off road outings.  I drive a 2017 Pajero 3.5 LWB and want to purchase required and recommended gear to get started.  Welcome comments from the experts.   Please feel free to link to other posts if  it’s easier. Much appreciated.  

- Tow Hooks: Do the stock front/rear tow hooks on the Pajero meet the mandatory requirements for Carnity’s off-road events? 

- Flag: What model works best for the Pajero and where should I buy it? 

- Securing Gear: How should I secure the large loose objects inside the cabin during off-road drives?  I’m specifically focused on securing the following items: air compressor, shovel, fire extinguisher, first aid kit, water/food, and handheld radio.  

- Modifications: For newbie and fewbie rides, do you recommend any modifications to the Pajero?  How about fixing the rear bumper “sand scoop” issue that I’ve read about in these forums?  

- Tow Hitch: I am contemplating installing a tow hitch (2 inch receiver) to haul some bikes around. It would be great to buy one the won’t interfere (much) with departure angle and could help with the rear bumper “sand scoop” issue.  What toe hitch do you recommend and where do you recommend having it installed? 

I welcome any other advice you wish to pass down.  I’m already studying the various “advice” and forum posts to figure things out. 

Thanks.  

• Like (+1) 1

9 hours ago, Ali Shah said:

Hi folks,

I am new to off-roading and looking forward to joining the club’s off road outings.  I drive a 2017 Pajero 3.5 LWB and want to purchase required and recommended gear to get started.  Welcome comments from the experts.   Please feel free to link to other posts if  it’s easier. Much appreciated.  

- Tow Hooks: Do the stock front/rear tow hooks on the Pajero meet the mandatory requirements for Carnity’s off-road events?